top of page

Mermaid Magic Series by Gwyneth Rees*


Book Type: Middle Grade Chapter Book

Author: Gwyneth Rees

Pages: 264


Summary(Goodreads.com): Rani has always known that she's different from the rest of her family. Now she is about to find out she's more different than she had realised - she's got magic powers!


My Review:

As you know, I never shy away from any mermaid book, no matter the age range, and I’m so glad I discovered this cute series over my holiday break!

First, I absolutely love Rani’s character development and description. She is described as standing out among other green-tailed mermaids (her tail is red) but she later learns the reason why she is so different- and it’s okay! This is a fantastic lesson to teach younger mers who are going through a phase of discovering themselves. Through the plot, Rani starts as a young, unsure mermaid to a powerful little mer who just wants to help everyone with her magic.


Because Mermaid Magic has three books in one, I also enjoyed the progression of the series and the cast of unique and funny characters, like the smarty pants Octavius the octopus and Roscoe the adorable pet sea horse! Rani also meets Morva, a legendary mer with a questionable past. My only minor complaint is sharks are depicted as evil, which often gets them into trouble with survival, so I don’t think that was an acceptable lesson for young mers.


This was a fantastic series that also reminded me of Emily Windsnap! I give this book (*****) 5 stars.

bottom of page