top of page

The Little Mermaid Paperback Series: Reflections of Arsulu by Marilyn Kaye


Book Type: Novel Author: Marilyn Kaye Pages: 77 Summary(goodreads.com): Everyone at the palace thinks Adella's new best friend, Arsulu, is wonderful. But Ariel has her doubts. Why is it, she wonders, that ever since Arsulu came to stay with them at the palace, strange and terrible things have been happening? A suspicious Ariel decides to spy on Arsulu to see if she's really to blame. That's when she learns the horrible truth about Arsulu. But how can Ariel convince her sisters that their dear, sweet guest is really a danger to them all? My Review: This is the second paperback that I have read in this series, and it was okay. I love seeing Ariel's life before her big movie, so it's always fun to read these. There are also pictures in this book, but they aren't colored; instead, they are black and white line drawings, waiting for a child to scribble in them, appearing to be coloring book illustrations. I wanted to see some life in them. This is The Little Mermaid after all, one of the most vibrant movies in Disney history! Let's take a look at the title. What do you see in the name, Arsulu? (hint... spell it backwards) I just found the title to be a bit to obvious, which lead me to no surprises or shock. It was also interesting to see how childish all of the princesses used to be, but this also presented a problem to me as a reader. I felt that this book had too much of the sister's bickering dialogue, and it got annoying after a while. This wasn't one of my favorites, but its a cool collector's piece. I give this book (***) 3 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page