top of page

Barbie In A Mermaid Tale 2 Movie Review*


Run Time: 1 hour and 14 minutes Summary(amazon.com): Surf's up for Barbie as she returns as Merliah, the surfing champ who's also a mermaid princess, in this new sea-quel where she learns anything is possible when you stay true to yourself! My Review: I loved the first "Barbie In A Mermaid Tale" and when I found out there was a second movie, I was so excited! This sea-quel proves to be just as good as the first movie. Merliah proves once again that she can accept herself and be completely awesome in both the human and mer-world. She is a very modern, cool and radical chick. She is also defiant and has an edge to her that other barbie characters just don't have. She really represents a teenager who is going through a coming-of-age process. She also proves that you can be confident and leave the arrogance behind, unlike her surf-enemy, Kylie. The music is also very fresh and modern with a Malibu/ Caribbean feel.

Children and adults can identify with Merliah. Not only has she just discovered a part of her culture/history, she also finds out that she was adopted. Ever since she became a mermaid, she has learned to build a relationship with her mother. My absolute favorite part of this movie was that they showed mermaids from all over the world, and the dolls are SO cool!

Check em out guys! I want to collect all of them!

Most of all, I love the lesson this movie tells; there is a limit to how far you need to prove yourself, especially if it involves interfering in other people's personal lives, which is a lesson both Merliah and Kylie learn.

I have absolutely fallen in love with the "Barbie In A Mermaid Tale" series, and I definitely want my mer-readers to go check them out! I give this movie (*****) 5 Stars! -Sirenita The Selkie

Trailer:

bottom of page