top of page

Barbie: The Pearl Princess Movie Review*


Run Time: 74 minutes

Summary(amazon.com): Barbie stars as Lumina, a mermaid who dreams of being a princess. As long as she can remember, she’s had a magical power that makes pearls dance and glow! Lumina, and her best friend Kuda, a pink seahorse, embark on an adventure to a majestic mer-kingdom. There, she uses her powers to help her friends prepare for the Royal Ball. Lumina then discovers that her magical pearls are the key to unlocking her true destiny and ultimately saving the kingdom.

My Review: I was so excited when this movie came out, especially since it's been a while since Mattel came out with another mermaid Barbie movie. As soon as this movie began to play, I was in complete awe... the colors, the artwork... it felt like I was underwater! They even got the sounds of being underwater perfectly!

I loved this new character Lumina. She is very innocent and beautiful, and it is clear she will do anything to help the ones she loves. Her new seahorse friend, Kuda, is also pretty funny! I also loved the mermaid city. It reminded me of the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, but full of breathtaking mermaids! I also thought the hair salon was pretty cute, and I loved seeing the mermaids get dolled up for the big party at the end.The main concept, or lesson that really stood out to me was people will stop at nothing for power and wealth, and it is up to people like Lumina, people with good intentions and love, to stop them.The music is awesome too!

The only two things that annoyed me about this movie was (yes, I know it's a Barbie movie) but everything, was pink! Not just pink, but hot pink! It started to give me a headache after a while; pink tail, pink castle, pink coral, pink Kuda!

I really did enjoy this movie, and it was very well made! I give this movie (****) 4 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page