top of page

Barbie Dolphin Magic Movie*


Rating: G (a family movie!)

Run time: 1 hour 3 minutes.

*Unfortunately this movie is only available on Netflix. Hopefully they will release a DVD!*

Summary(netflix.com):

While visiting Ken and exploring a coral reef, Barbie and her sisters make an amazing discovery and meet a mysterious new friend.

My Review:

The Barbie Company created another fintastic mermaid movie, and this one is now my favorite!

The opening scenes are just amazing. I felt as if I was swimming in a real coral reef, and not like the vibrant pink ones in other movies. The underwater scenery is so realistic, and shows the diversity of the ocean.

This Barbie movie takes on a more serious message; is captivity for marine mammals cruel? One scene depicts fishermen taking the baby gemstone dolphin out of the water, and this reminded me of capture stories associated with Sea World. Another message makes people question if science oversteps the boundaries of what's right and wrong. One of my favorite quotes is, "a real marine biologist wants to help animals. Not use them to get rich."

Now, let's get to the lighter side of the movie! Barbie takes a tropical vacation with her sisters, and meets the mermaid named Isla. Her tail is beautiful!! I love the violet color, and the shape of her fins.

The movie also has fantastic tropical music that I will post on the blog. I loved that this movie had a great message about animals in captivity, had a simple plot, and wasn't about princesses or magic. It's about friendship, love, and treating wildlife with respect.

I give this movie (*****) 5 stars.

-Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page