top of page

Hercules: The Legendary Journeys featuring Nautica


Titles:

Love on the Rocks

My Best Girl's Wedding

Run time: 45 minutes each episode

Summary(imdb.com):

Love on the Rocks:

Discord changes Nautica from a mermaid into a woman. Aphrodite helps Iolaus drive a group of thugs away from a village, which causes Nautica to fall in love with him. As Discord and her thugs try to keep Nautica away from the ocean until sunset, Iolaus falls in love with her and feels guilty because he's not really a brave warrior.

My Best Girl's Wedding:

The leader of a group of thugs pulls into a small town to celebrate his wedding - to Iolaus II's love, Nautica. On his way to find Triton, Hercules rescues a woman from bandits, who turns out to be his love, Serena (with Kevin Sorbo's real life wife Sam Sorbo reprising her role). As Iolaus II tries to delay Nautica's wedding, Hercules and Serena try to free Nautica from her forced marriage.

My Review:

1) Love on the Rocks

What I love about Nautica is that she reminds me of Ariel from The Little Mermaid. She's curious about humans, and defiant against her father's rules. She's also very innocent and sweet, especially when she sees her own legs for the first time. Her tail is beautiful, but I would've liked to see more detail on her fin.

While a cute love story developed, the acting is cheesy, and I was surprised Hercules, the star of the show, wasn't involved in this episode. I give this episode (***) 3 stars.

2) My Best Girl's Wedding

In this episode, Nautica strikes a dangerous deal with a pirate leader, who forces her to marry him. Iolaus comes in to save the day of course, and nothing really excited happened. While it has interesting mer-elements, it didn't capture my attention. I give this episode (**) 2 stars.

I think Nautica could've been utilized more in the plot. She was a cool mythical character, but the episodes she was featured in were lacking in excitement.

-Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page