top of page

The Mermaids Of Tiburon


Rating: Not Rated (I would rate this R. There's A LOT of nudity)

Run Time:1 hour 16 minutes

Summary(IMDB.com):

A diver is aided in his search for sunken treasure by beautiful mermaids.

My Review: After so many mer-enthusiasts listed this movie on multiple "must watch mermaid movie" lists, I had to finally check it out for myself. Honestly, I don't know what anyone sees in this movie.

The film has a documentary style that focuses on the mermaids as a scientific discovery rather than characters, and a man's journey to discover an uncharted island near Mexico that contains rare glowing pearls. There are some great underwater scenes during this portion of marine life, and some scenes that show how animals were kept in cramped conditions in the 1960's. There is also some great island scenes as well, but that's as far as the plot goes.

The movie shows one mermaid queen, and she is the only one who has a full tail. The other "mermaids" have seaweed underwater and swim fins. Yes, no tails. Just swim fins! There doesn't seem to be a solid plot, but a main focus on naked women swimming in seaweed panties. Mermaids Of Tiburon has a boring plot with bare-breasted women who don't swim like mermaids. I was very disappointed by this film.

I give this movie (*) 1 star.

-Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page