top of page

The Little Mermaid: Translated by Naomi Lewis*


Book Type: Children's Literature Author/ Translator: Naomi Lewis Pages: 68 Summary(goodreads.com): This magical story tells of a mermaid's thwarted love for a land-born prince, and her quest for an immortal soul that brings her face to face with an evil seawitch. Full of love, sacrifice and magic, The Little Mermaid is a charming classic. My Review: Amazingly-gorgeous art, a classic story in all its glory... This is a truly beautiful version of "The Little Mermaid". When I first saw this book on Amazon.com, I knew I was going to fall in love with the artwork the most:

I mean WOW! Chris Birmingham did an amazing job with the artwork in this book. I also like how Naomi Lewis kept the original beauty of Hans Christian Anderson's original story, and really didn't change much. However, since the original story is a bit wordy, I do believe smaller children may have a hard time focusing on the story. This book really is a beautiful treasure, and anyone who loves "The Little Mermaid" as much as I do, will appreciate having this book in their collection. I give this book (*****) 5 stars.

-Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page