top of page

Barbie as the Pearl Princess: Magical Mermaid Adventure by Mary Man Kong


Book Type: Children's Literature Author: Mary Man Kong Pages: 16 Summary(amazon.com): Barbie stars as Lumina, a mermaid who dreams of being a princess. As long as she can remember, she’s had a magical power that makes pearls dance and glow! Lumina, and her best friend Kuda, a pink seahorse, embark on an adventure to a majestic mer-kingdom. There, she uses her powers to help her friends prepare for the Royal Ball. Lumina then discovers that her magical pearls are the key to unlocking her true destiny and ultimately saving the kingdom. My Review: I was so excited when this new mermaid movie came out, especially because I've always loved Barbie! At first, I thought it was going to be very similar to Barbie In A Mermaid Tale but the story line is actually very different. I have to admit; I was slightly disappointed by this book. It doesn't exactly follow the plot of the movie. For example, although in the book the reader sees Scylla taking Lumina out of her crib and stealing her, we never actually see this in the movie. A good chunk of detail was cut out. However, the book was okay. Hopefully I can find a better version! I give this book (*** - ****) between 3 and 4 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page