top of page

Atlantis: The Legend Of A Lost City by Christina Balit*


Book Type: Children's Book Author: Christina Balit Pages: 24 Summary(goodreads.com): A magnificently illustrated retelling of the story of Atlantis--one of the world's most haunting and fascinating myths. Floating on the emerald sea is a small rocky island belonging to the mighty sea-god Poseidon. Few visit its shores-until Poseidon marries a beautiful woman named Cleito and transforms the island into a rich and fertile paradise, where all things flourish. A magnificent city arises. Poseidon names his perfect island Atlantis. Atlantis prospers and its people live in peace, but as the years pass, Poseidon's descendants start to act less like gods and more like men. When the people incur the wrath of their god, a terrible curse is carried out and the entire island sinks forever beneath the waves. This retelling of the history of fabled Atlantis is based on Plato's Timaeus and Critias. It features a note by internationally known historian Geoffrey Ashe, who has written extensively in the area of mythology. My Review: I was surprised that this book did not come up on my library's online catalog when I searched "mermaids". I actually stumbled upon this book while in the children's section, and there it was, next to the books about merfolk! As many mer-enthusiasts know, some legends say that seafolk, or merfolk, live in the beautiful, lost city of Atlantis. I have always been fascinated with the legend, so I decided to give the book a try. I am in love with it now! The story, although intended for children, is not written in a juvenile style, so adults will also love this book and it is easy to follow along. The text is not super big, which is another element I like; I cant stand huge text in children's books! However, the most captivating element about this book was the illustrations! See for yourself!

The style of this beautiful art is very Mediterranean. I think Poseidon is one of the most beautiful drawings in this book. I really recommend trying to find this book. It was so beautiful, I will be adding it to my mer-library. I give this book (*****) 5 stars.

-Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page