top of page

The Little Mermaid and Spot*


Book Type: Children's book

Author: Walt Disney Company

Pages: NA (very short read).

Summary:

Ariel and her baby orca friend, Spot, are playing ball around the kingdom of Atlantica. Spot's size causes some problems for the merpeople, but they all learn to embrace their size, no matter how big or small!

My Review: One of my favorite sea animals is the orca. Known for their sleek grace and loyalty to their pod, orcas are a gorgeous and mysterious animal. Spot is a baby, so he is a little clumsy, but adorable! The illustrations in this book are gorgeous, and remind me of a similar style to The Little Mermaid television show that use to air a long time ago. The text is also enjoyable for adults and children.

I felt so bad for Spot! He just wants to play, but he keeps crashing into everyone like a giant puppy. I wanted to give him a hug and treat :) This is a great book that gives an important lesson; don't judge others by their size. Everyone is useful no matter if they are as big as spot, or small like Sebastian!

I give this book (*****) 5 stars.

-Sirenita The Selkie.

bottom of page