top of page

The Tiniest Mermaid by Laura Garnham*


Book Type: Children's Book Author: Laura Garnham Pages: 28 Summary(goodreads.com): When lonely Lily wanders down to the seaside, she discovers a new friend. Delphi is a mermaid who was hurt during a terrible storm. When Lily rescues Delphi and takes her home to recover, the two become best friends. Delphi captivates Lily with her tales about coral palaces and silvery fish. But when Delphi recovers, she must leave Lily and return to the sea. The illustrations are enhanced by magical foil throughout and help to tell this enchanting story of friendship.

My Review: I thought this book was very adorable. I loved the fact that the little girl Lily went out of her way to care and tend to the mermaid, Delphi. I think this sends a very positive message to children, and that is to help people and creatures in need. The artwork in this book is also very beautiful and whimsical. One of my favorite drawings in this book was when Delphi was placed into the aquarium next to Lily's bed. The only thing I did not particularly like out of personal preference was all the magic-girly stuff. That's not something I prefer to read, but since this is a children's book, it is expected. Also, the text was a bit big, but the story itself was not written in too much of a juvenile fashion. I give this book (****) 4 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page