top of page

Something About A Mermaid by Carolyn Polese


Book Type: Children's Book Author: Carolyn Polese Pages: 27 Summary(amazon.com): A mermaid is discovered by a young girl named Janie and her family, then goes home with them to their city apartment. My Review: I would just like to start by saying that this book is over 20 years old, and it might be out of print, so finding it could be a challenge. Try checking your local library if you found my review interesting!

I really thought the mermaid written in this book was very new and original! She is tiny and small with an otter-like face and she is just so cute! When reading about her I wanted to pull her out of the story and read mermaid books to her! But for a children's book, I found some parts strange. There is one scene where the girl Janie is taking a shower with the mermaid (I guess to replicate the ocean) and shows her partially nude. In another instance, one of the characters says "damn!" I've never seen such things in children's books, but I guess the guidelines were different back then.

Overall, I think this book had a really sweet plot, and the mermaid was precious! If you can find this book

, give it a read! I give this book (***-****) between 3 and 4 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page