top of page

Rani In The Mermaid Lagoon by Lisa Papademetriou


Book Type: Children's Literature Author: Lisa Papademetriou Pages: 128 Summary(amazon.com):

Rani doesn't fit in. Ever since she had to cut off her wings to save Mother Dove, she doesn’t feel like she belongs with the water talent fairies. In fact, without wings, she doesn’t feel like she belongs with any fairies at all. Rani sets off on a perilous journey to find a home, a journey that leads her underwater, deep into the lagoon, where the mermaids live. Maybe there Rani will discover who her true friends are!

My Review:

Never Land has always intrigued me, and I loved the Disney movie, Peter Pan. Of course, my favorite part was always the mischievous mermaids! What I loved about the book was the whimsical Pixie Hollow, home to the fairies, as well as the beautiful colored illustrations that follow, showing mermaids, the fairies and the lagoon. The fairies in Pixie Hollow are so cute, and they are willing to help each other out to make the best out of their community. I completely understand why Rani is so upset and I felt so bad for her! Loosing your wings must be like loosing your fins, but I did get a little annoyed with her constant crying and her, "I cant do anything!" perspective.

I also loved how Papademetriou created the mermaids perfectly. Although they are beautiful and wild, they are also vain and shallow, just like the mermaids in Disney's Peter Pan. They can also be quite air headed as well as nasty if they don't get their way. In the end, this book shows that everyone has a talent, and sometimes the best talent you have is being unique, and also help others in need. I give this book (****) 4 stars.

-Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page