top of page

Princess Fishtail by Frances Minters*


Book Type: Children's Literature Author: Frances Minters Pages: 32 Summary(goodreads.com): Princess Fishtail really digs her life beneath the water-living in a crystal palace, jumping rope with dolphins, and chatting with tuna on her cell phone. But one day when she rescues a handsome surfer, the mer-princess realizes she's been hooked-by love. The princess decides to spend the rest of her life on land with her true love, but one day she gets homesick for her old pals under the sea. Will a rotten old troll stand in true love's way, or can a mermaid princess, a surfer, and some sewing lessons show the way to living happily ever after? My Review When I first picked up this book, I didn't know what to expect, especially with the crazy and whimsical drawings on the cover. However, I really liked this book, and it was funny too! This book is actually a very modern and young version of the classic story, The Little Mermaid, and it's upbeat as well. It was also funny that the main character is so high maintenance, and very spoiled! I loved how the story was written. It was a clever and lyrical poem, and as soon as the book started I was impressed with Minters' style of writing. I also loved how the sea creatures throughout the illustrations make cheeky little remarks about what's going on :) Although the illustrations are a bit childlike and whimsical, the story was really cute, and I loved the ending, which teaches children to be happy and grateful for what you have, and to make the best out of a bad situation. I really liked this book, and I believe adults will enjoy it as well. I give this book (*****) 5 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page