top of page

Mairi's Mermaid by Michael Morpurgo


Book Type: Children's Book Author: Michael Morpurgo Pages: 48 Summary(goodreads.com): Robbie says swimming is easy. You just have to pretend you’re a mermaid. But that doesn’t help Mairi. She isn’t even sure that mermaids are real! My Review: Learning how to swim is a milestone in every little merchild's life that requires patience...and sometimes a little help from merpeople! I loved the main concept of the book; every creature needs help now matter how big or small. By helping each other, Mairi and the mermaid solved their problems. The book also teaches patience and perseverance. I loved the small details in the book. On every page, a fish makes a comment about what's going on. I also loved the cute illustrations and how tiny the merpeople were! I give this book (****) 4 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page