top of page

Alonzo and Molly the Mermaid (The Adventures of Alonzo the Chicken) by Debbie Kelly


Book Type: Easy Read Chapter Book Author: Debbie Kelly Pages: 56 Summary(goodreads.com): When Molly the Mermaid is kidnapped by the Pesky Pirates things don't look too clever. But then they hadn't reckoned on Alonzo, the world's first chicken superhero! With the help of Sid the Squid, Delores the Dolphin and the other sea creatures, our clucking hero swims in to save the day. This cracking, first book in the 'The Adventures of Alonzo the Chicken' series, Alonzo and Molly the Mermaid is a barmy, maritime adventure for early readers.

Debbie Kelly has written a fun and swashbuckling book which accompanied by Monika Filipina Trzpil's delightful illustrations will delight young readers. With mermaids, pirates and a superhero chicken this is great fun for boys and girls alike.

My Review: When I first found this book on my library's online catalog, I was a bit skeptical.

A chicken? And a mermaid? I had to find out for myself!

What I loved most about this book was the creativity, and how different it was from other children's books. Alonzo the chicken is definitely a character who stands out to me among the other books I've read. I also loved the illustrations; they were so quirky and cute!

The only negative I have about this book is that it's meant for children learning how to read chapters, so adult readers might find the writing style a bit juvenile. This is also a series, so the book ends on a good cliffhanger!

I give this book (****) 4 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page