top of page

Tara and Her Talking Kitten Meet A Mermaid by Diana Cooper


Book Type: Easy Read Chapter Books

Author: Diana Cooper Pages: 80 Summary(goodreads.com): When a flood overwhelms her village, Tara enlists the help of her old friends the fairies and the Unicorn to help save a boy from drowning. Learning from this event, Tara undertakes a special mission to clean up the oceans. By organizing her school and with the help of politicians, Tara successfully builds a campaign to raise public awareness about environmental concerns. The fourth adventure in a magical series, this imaginative story creates clear discussion points allowing parents and teachers to talk to children about actions and consequences while offering ideas on ways to interact with and protect the earth.

My Review: I loved this book! It was really creative and original. This seems to be a series, but you don't have to read the other books, since some of the background info is explained. I really like how this book introduced children to elemental magic, such as auras and light, and even archangels. Ash-ting the cat is my favorite character. He is so fickle, and reminds me of my own cat! I also like that the author went into different ways that the oceans are ruined by humans, but explained it in a way that was easy for kids to understand.

The only negatives I have are that the language is a bit simplified and juvenile, so adults might not enjoy reading this. Also, the story seems to end abruptly, and I wanted more of a clearer ending. I give this book (***) 3 stars. -Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page