top of page

Mermaid Tales #6: The Secret Seahorse by Debbie Dadey


Book Type: Easy Read Chapter Book Author: Debbie Dadey Pages: 112

Summary(amazon.com):

Of all the creatures in the ocean, sea horses are Echo Reef’s favorite. They’re sweet and gentle and they glide through the water so gracefully. When Echo discovers that Rocky Ridge, one of her Trident Academy classmates, has his own pet sea horse, she wants one right away. Not everyone agrees sea horses should be pets, however—perhaps they are happiest when swimming freely. But Echo thinks that if Rocky can make a sea horse happy, she can too! Can’t she?

My Review:

I was intrigued how the plot of this book would turn out, especially since it's about keeping wild animals as pets, something that is unfortunately very common today. Echo's obsession with seahorses is so cute. She reminds me of little girls who love ponies and horses :)

There are two main lessons that kids will learn in this book. The first one is always be prepared and focused in school, especially when it comes to tests and quizzes. Second, the book focuses on the issue of keeping wild animals as pets, and the dangers it comes with as well.

Sadly, I was disappointed with the ending, and I felt that it ruined the whole point of this lesson (which I won't give away). This Mermaid Tale was okay, but I didn't like it as much as the others. I give this book (***) 3 stars.

bottom of page