top of page

The Little Mermaid by Katie Daynes*


Book Type: Children's Book

Author: Katie Daynes

Pages: 48

Summary:

A re-telling of the classic story by Hans Christian Anderson, The Little Mermaid, focuses on a young mermaid princess, who makes a major sacrifice to live among humans.

My Review:

The enchanting beauty that graced this cover really caught my attention. Plus, I never pass up the opportunity to read The Little Mermaid! In Daynes's version, the text is simple for little mers, but adult merfolk will enjoy this version as well. Daynes also kept to the original beauty of the story minus the tongue-cutting part.

The watercolor illustrations are also beautiful and enchanting like the sea. The joyful moments are captured in bright colors, while the darker images have a soft blue glow. My favorite image is on the last page because it really captured the loneliness of the Little Mermaid princess.

The Sea Witch is also terrifying, and reminded me of a swamp monster!

The only aspect of this book I did not enjoy was the abrupt ending. Anderson created a lyrical ending that symbolized human afterlife, and this was left out.

This is a beautiful TLM book to add to anyone's mermaid shelf :)

I give this book (****) 4 stars.

-Sirenita The Selkie

bottom of page